My impression of Suse 10.2

April 24, 2007 at 8:26 pm Leave a comment

Recently, I installed Fedora Core 6, but I decided to erase it after I fail to install RadRails on the it. In addition, Fedora wasn’t a easy distro to install. Even though the machine I install it on was an older machine, Fedora had problems detecting the graphical card and display. I decided to try Suse 10.2.

My impression of Suse 10.1 was not good. YAST took 10 minutes to update its listing and failed constantly. AppArmor constantly did strange things. Much to my suprise, Suse 10.2 was a huge improvement.

Installation

Installation was straightforward compare to Fedora. Everything was detected properly. The only warning is that the DVD doesn’t prompt you if you want to wipe out your existing LVM partition. When I click on install, it wiped out the LVM partitions setup previously by Fedora. Yes, this is what I wanted, but perhaps you should ask first!

Performance

Suse 10.2 is noticably faster than Fedora Core 6. Its boot time is faster. Application loads faster than Fedora.

Graphical Interface

When you install, you can choose between Gnome and KDE. I picked Gnome because Suse had been traditionally associated with Gnome. One annoyance, the application menu only holds a few applications. You can click on more application button, which takes you to a window with a list of applications.

One bit of warning. While the 3dfx driver (tdfx) is supported, 3D support for it has been depreciated since Suse 10.1. There are no libglide3 RPM for 10.2. so you’ll be out of luck if you plan to play 3D games on 3dfx unless you want to compile your own libglide3 module.

Package Management

Open Suse 10.2 uses YAST. YAST is a very good all-in-one package management. Unlike Suse 10.1, YAST did not crash or take half an hour to load the repository list.

Community

Open Suse’s community is lacking. I wanted to install RadRails on Suse, but I can find not a single post about how to do this.

I am going to keep Suse on my machine for a while. I report back if there are any issues.

Entry filed under: linux.

My Install Experience with Fedora Core 6 What does DotPet use as a signature

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

April 2007
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Most Recent Posts


