Upgrading Puppy 2.15CE to 2.16

May 21, 2007 at 12:30 am Leave a comment

Puppy 2.16 has been release recently and I decided to upgrade from 2.15CE to 2.16. I backed up the pup_save file and then use Puppy 2.16’s universal installer to install the software onto the USB key. The upgrade did not work as expected since Puppy did not boot into X-Window as I expected to. I did encountered several problems:

  • The /etc/X11/rc.d/rc.modules were overwritten. I had thought that my changes were saved to my pup_save file, but apparently not. Fortunately, I had documented the changes in a blog. I just basically copy the settings back. In the future, I will save a copy of the rc.modules file.
  • My dev_215.sfs was removed. I downloaded dev_216.sfs in its place.
  • There are two drives on my desktop. I deleted the older one.
  • My Open Office is missing. I downloaded the new Open Office 2.2 sfs file.
  • SeaMonkey’s home page is the 2.15CE community page, which no longer exists. Fixing it was as simple as setting it to a new home page.

There is an additional step after you install the sfs files. You need to select menu->System->Bootmanager Configure. Click on the button to select the SFS file and move the two sfs file to the right. Reboot machine. Actually, the first time I tried this, it did not work. I unchecked the option to ignore the entry and manually move the files again and reboot. This time it works for some reason.

Entry filed under: linux, Puppy Linux.

What does DotPet use as a signature Removing auto dhcp on startup for Puppy Linux

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

May 2007
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Most Recent Posts


