HP Photosmart C7280 driver install fails with an error registering hpbmiapi.dll failed to register

March 2, 2009 at 12:12 am 48 comments

Recently, my mom’s troublesome Brothers MFC-3360C All-In-One printer finally died. The printer was just pure evil. Dust would collect around the tray and make it impossible to remove the paper tray. The ink cartridge would run dry every couple of months even though no one printed anything because it continuously self-clean. I was not unhappy to see it go.

I replaced it with a HP Photosmart C7280 All-In-One. The printer looked solid and I hope that it will last longer than the Brothers, but our relationship soured quickly when I attempted to install the drivers. The driver failed with the following error:

Fatal error during Installation
Module C:\Windows\system32\hpbmiapi.dll failed to register. HRESULT -2147221164. Contact your support personnel.
Please go to http://www.hp.com/support for troubleshooting information about "Fatal Error" and "MSI.dot4wrp".

Since the CD install didn’t work, I downloaded the latest drivers from HP and they didn’t work. I tried to unzip the drivers and locate the hpbmiapi.dll and manually register the dll, but I ran out of disk space. I tried google and notice that many HP owners of a different printer had similar issues, but was resolved by a patch from HP.

I called HP customer support in hopes that they will have a patch for the C7280, but they were less than helpful.  I mentioned that various other people on the HP forum had the same issue, but they told me that no one has reported this issue. After trying a few things, they declared that the problem was Microsoft’s fault and that I should call up Microsoft since they will know what the problem is. They wouldn’t escalate the issue because it was a Microsoft problem. Right…

This post gave me a clue:

http://forums13.itrc.hp.com/service/forums/bizsupport/questionanswer.do?admit=109447627+1235967722575+28353475&threadId=1198595

The hpbmiapi.dll registration failed because of a dependency. Apparently hpbmiapi.dll is dependent on atl.dll (Active Template Library) to be registered. When it wasn’t, the install blew up when it failed to register hpbmiapi.dll. What the error message should have mentioned was the dependency.

To fix the problem, do the following:

  1. Check if atl.dll exists in your system directory. It’s usually in C:\Windows\system32. If it exists, go to the next step. If it does not, you may be able to install it by downloading and installing the Visual C++ 6.0 runtime at:
    http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;en-us;259403
  2. Once it’s there, you can register it by running the following command in a command window (you must be an admin of the system):

    regsvr32 C:\WINDOWS\system32\atl.dll
    


  3. Now install the driver again. This time the install should work.

I am hoping that this article will help someone save a few hours of frustration. Sadly, I have had good luck with HP in the past. It’s clear that they are no longer the company they used to be.

Entry filed under: Hardware, Windows.

Testing eboostr on an older machine HP Photosmart C7280 Driver Install Tips

48 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Mike  |  March 3, 2009 at 3:02 pm

    Ran into this today on one of the computers on our network I was setting up. Thanks for the fix. It should be noted that if the file is there, you do not need the download. Just execute the regsvr32 from start–>run. Also, there is a space after the regsvr32 and the location of the file.

    Thanks again!

    Reply
  • 2. Gerald  |  March 16, 2009 at 2:29 pm

    Thank you very much. This was very helpful.

    Reply
  • 3. Mike  |  May 18, 2009 at 9:17 pm

    Thanks, man! This saved the day. I tried registering it by hand too and I also tried using the Regdd.zip utility too. Was about to take the Officejet 6500 back to the store when I googled hpbmiapi and found your post. I registered atl.dll like you said and voila, the installation CD was able to install my HP AIO software.

    Sending good karma your way.

    Reply
  • 4. Leonard  |  July 9, 2009 at 8:07 pm

    If you’re willing to pay more than $250.00 for this HP Officejet 6500 printer, you’ll be paying too much! Right now, there is an online seller offering this beauty for $70.00! I located the site (one in over 100 sites) in less than a minute of search time! That’s how I find all of my bargains; by using the Genie bargain finder software tool downloaded free from:
    http://www.freegeniebargainfinder.com/

    Reply
  • 5. Tom Law  |  July 17, 2009 at 2:35 pm

    Thank you so much – that worked brilliantly.

    Reply
  • 6. Robert  |  August 27, 2009 at 2:57 pm

    Thanks! Worked perfectly. You are amazing.

    Reply
  • 7. Sue  |  September 26, 2009 at 1:41 pm

    Thank YOU…. You’re a life saver.. been going out of my mind with HP support trying to get my printer to work.. continued to get this install error.. after 3 support people and total of 5 hours on the phone, they said.. ‘we can’t help and we need to escalate to tier3 support’. after a quick qoogle search, came across your suggestion and had my issue fixed and the printer working within 30minutes.

    Maybe you need to go work for HP.. god knows they could use people that know what they are doing..

    Thanks for posting your solution.

    Reply
  • 8. Ben  |  October 24, 2009 at 11:50 am

    Thank you very much for this help.

    I have bought a HP Photosmart C4680 All-In-One and it was impossible to install driver. I tried all the solution described on the Hp web site but none of all worked.

    After a quick research on internet I found your article. I follow your instructions, reinstalled the driver and it worked !!!!!!

    thank you very much !

    Reply
  • 9. Manfred  |  December 27, 2009 at 5:35 am

    You are awesome!!!!
    After spending 2 days reading a lot of bullshit in other blogs and forums, mainly HP written, this was a simple solution.
    It worked immediately and simple with my old W2K PC.
    You saved me buying a new one – thanks.

    Reply
  • 10. Joe  |  January 6, 2010 at 2:34 pm

    Amazing that it is so simple and HP makes it so hard….Thank you for your simplistic solution….you should do this for some big companies.

    Reply
  • 11. Yoe  |  January 10, 2010 at 2:21 pm

    Thanks a lot from Spain!. Very easy and clear… not as HP 😦

    Reply
  • 12. Alicia Gill  |  June 4, 2010 at 9:42 am

    I want to THANK the person who originally posted the fix for this issue…. and just as a buyer’s note… my office purchased the HP Officejet Pro 8500 wireless, and we had this same issue with registering the atl.dll file…. so beware of this with any of these HP printers……!

    Reply
  • 13. Stephen  |  October 2, 2010 at 5:30 am

    What foolish thing is that? why won’t you let me download the drivers of hp photosmart c7280 printer all-in-one

    Reply
  • 14. Tonya  |  October 2, 2010 at 8:24 am

    I love you!!!

    Ok… that’s only teasing a little bit. I have been trying for HOURS to fix my printer and of course haven’t found an answer to this issue until NOW.

    Even though I have an HP Deskjet F4240 All in One this was the issue with it!

    I did exactly what you said found the atl.dll file in my system32 file so went in and registered it, and it’s installing beautifully.

    Thank you so much for this post!

    I have so much work to catch up on after it’s installed. 😉

    Happy Home schooling Mommy!

    Reply
  • 15. Zenon Pylyshyn  |  July 26, 2011 at 10:15 pm

    The solution did not work for me. In fact I got several fatal error messages and then my computer would not reboot (well it did after about 15 minutes of apparently sitting there). It seems, according to one fatal error message) I have a problem with Adobe Flash although the URL did not work. So it seems that HP has done nothing about this common error after several years. It just confirms what I always believed abut HP — I had the same kinds of problems with an earlier version of a printer-scanner and eventually had to settle for a work-around that required that I reboot the computer before each scan!

    Reply
  • 16. About Flea Bombs  |  October 21, 2012 at 7:50 am

    If done properly, the garlic smell should be undetected by humans but
    fleas will not stay on your pet for long.
    They are especially effective in cracks, crevices, under furniture, in closets, etc.
    Gently work the comb through your dogs coat paying special attention to the belly and lower back as this is where fleas like to gather most.

    Reply
  • 17. lozivit  |  December 20, 2012 at 8:30 am

    En Français. Après 3 jours de recherche je viens de réussir à installer HP C4580 sur Vista.Imprimante achetée en 2009.hpboid.dll failed to register. Effectivement en copiant dans le registre comme indiqué plus haut atl.dll, l’installation s’effectue normalement.Merci à l’initiateur de cette solution.
    Thank you so much for this post!

    Reply
  • 18. Jessika  |  May 9, 2013 at 1:35 pm

    These are actually great ideas in on the topic of blogging. You have touched some pleasant things here. Any way keep up wrinting.

    Reply
  • 19. Eddy  |  May 9, 2013 at 4:54 pm

    Hi there, just became alert to your blog through Google, and found that it is truly informative. I’m going to watch out for brussels. I will appreciate if you continue this in future. Numerous people will be benefited from your writing. Cheers!

    Reply
  • 20. cars  |  May 28, 2013 at 7:11 pm

    Are you feeling like you do not have the car you deserve?
    This is because the salesman is trying to get a great commission out of you.
    Don’t treat a salesperson like a friend. Continue reading for some valuable tips and information.

    Reply
  • 21. procera avh  |  May 31, 2013 at 5:50 am

    Do you find it harder to bear in mind the items that you need to utilize?
    Is your memory at its worst whenever you want to use it most?

    This short article provides some methods and tricks to assist you along
    with your memory. Keep reading to see the best way to
    improve your memory with the help of AVH Procera and regain confidence.

    Reply
  • 22. htc titan ii unlock  |  June 1, 2013 at 5:51 am

    Hey! I could have sworn I’ve been to this site before but after checking through some of the post I realized it’s new to me.

    Anyways, I’m definitely glad I found it and I’ll be book-marking and checking back often!

    Reply
  • 23. garcinia cambogia  |  June 3, 2013 at 6:06 pm

    Excellent post. I was checking continuously this blog and
    I am impressed! Very useful info specifically the last part :
    ) I care for such info a lot. I was looking for this particular information
    for a long time. Thank you and good luck.

    Reply
  • 24. Sherrie  |  June 29, 2013 at 12:54 pm

    I get pleasure from, cause I found exactly what I was looking for. You’ve ended my 4 day long hunt! God Bless you man. Have a nice day. Bye

    Reply
  • 25. Ashton  |  August 9, 2013 at 8:44 pm

    You’ve made some good points there. I looked on the internet for more information about the issue and found most people will go along with your views on this site.

    Reply
  • 26. Larry  |  August 10, 2013 at 8:31 am

    It’s awesome designed for me to have a web site, which is valuable designed for my knowledge. thanks admin

    Reply
  • 27. Kurt  |  August 11, 2013 at 6:25 am

    I am in fact glad to glance at this webpage posts which includes tons of useful facts, thanks for providing these kinds of information.

    Reply
  • 28. Abdul  |  August 12, 2013 at 5:52 pm

    My brother suggested I may like this blog. He was entirely right. This submit actually made my day. You cann’t consider just how so much time I had spent for this information! Thank you!

    Reply
  • 29. Deloras  |  September 21, 2013 at 6:10 pm

    Simply wish to saay your article is as astonishing.
    The clearness to your post is simply cool and that i could asssume you’re
    a professional on this subject. Well with your permission allow me to snatch your feed to
    stay updated with coming near near post. Thank you one million and please continue the enjoyable work.

    Reply
  • 30. Lon  |  September 25, 2013 at 9:33 am

    Greetings from Florida! I’m bored at work so I decided to check out your site on my iphone during lunch break. I love the info you present here and can’t wait to take a look when I get home. I’m shocked at how fast your blog loaded on my cell phone .. I’m not even using WIFI, just 3G .. Anyhow, wonderful blog!

    Reply
  • 31. Sarah  |  October 25, 2013 at 10:13 pm

    Hello would you mind stating which blog platform you’re working with?
    I’m going to start my own blog in the near future but I’m having
    a difficult time deciding between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and
    Drupal. The reason I ask is because your design and style seems different then
    most blogs and I’m looking for something unique.
    P.S My apologies for being off-topic but I had to ask!

    Reply
  • 32. Lacey  |  October 26, 2013 at 7:05 am

    Its such as you read my mind! You appear to
    grasp a lot approximately this, such as you wrote
    the e book in it or something. I feel that you just can do with some p.c.
    to drive the message home a little bit, but instead of that, this is excellent blog.

    A great read. I will certainly be back.

    Reply
  • 33. Gena  |  January 1, 2014 at 2:29 pm

    Ahaa, its good discussion concerning this piece of writing at this place at this web site, I have read all that, so at this time me also commenting here.

    Reply
  • 34. Felicitas  |  January 1, 2014 at 2:29 pm

    Awesome blog you have here but I was curious about if you knew of any forums that cover the same topics discussed in this article? I’d really like to be a part of online community where I can get advice from other knowledgeable people that share the same interest. If you have any recommendations, please let me know. Bless you!

    Reply
  • 35. Bertie  |  January 6, 2014 at 5:52 pm

    I got this web site from my pal who shared with me concerning this site and at the moment this time I am visiting this website and reading very informative articles here.

    Reply
  • 36. Janet  |  January 6, 2014 at 5:53 pm

    An impressive share! I have just forwarded this onto a co-worker who has been conducting a little research on this. And he actually ordered me dinner due to the fact that I discovered it for him… lol. So let me reword this…. Thanks for the meal!! But yeah, thanks for spending time to talk about this matter here on your website.

    Reply
  • 37. Jeremy  |  January 25, 2014 at 7:05 am

    Great goods from you, man. I’ve understand your stuff previous to and you are just too fantastic. I really like what you’ve acquired here, really like what you are stating and the way in which you say it. You make it entertaining and you still take care of to keep it sensible. I cant wait to read far more from you. This is really a tremendous website.

    Reply
  • 38. Ivan  |  January 26, 2014 at 5:23 pm

    My family members always say that I am killing my time here at net, but I know I am getting familiarity all the time by reading thes fastidious content.

    Reply
  • 39. Blair  |  January 26, 2014 at 5:24 pm

    of course like your website but you need to test the spelling on several of your posts. Several of them are rife with spelling problems and I in finding it very bothersome to inform the truth on the other hand I’ll definitely come back again.

    Reply
  • 40. Louanne  |  January 26, 2014 at 9:36 pm

    I will right away grasp your rss as I can not to find your e-mail subscription link or e-newsletter service. Do you have any? Kindly let me know in order that I could subscribe. Thanks.

    Reply
  • 41. Jonas  |  January 26, 2014 at 9:40 pm

    You actually make it seem really easy together with your presentation however I to find this topic to be actually one thing which I feel I’d never understand. It kind of feels too complex and very vast for me. I’m taking a look ahead for your subsequent put up, I’ll try to get the cling of it!

    Reply
  • 42. naked women tgp  |  April 27, 2014 at 6:25 am

    Thanks , I’ve recently been searching for info approximately this topic for
    ages and yours is the best I’ve found out till now. But, what about
    the bottom line? Are you sure about the source?

    Reply
  • 43. carinaheppagpaz.pen.io  |  June 3, 2014 at 7:45 am

    For some of you may know, yahoo id my new book,
    The Drama of the Gifted Child, in which they are interacting.
    Similarly, the salary scale of a particular moral character.

    Adherenc to rules and conventions is somewhat rigid, however, it will develop in the same cavalier fashion.
    So, one would nsed to successfully complete yahoo id a postdoctoral
    education. My grandfagher was so close to me and because of family problems, cognitive problems, developmental, yahoo id social, moral
    and sexual development.

    Reply
  • 44. Denisha  |  June 7, 2014 at 10:47 am

    Hello, Neat post. There is a problem together with your site in internet explorer, would test this? IE nonetheless is the marketplace leader and a huge section of folks will pass over your fantastic writing because of this problem.

    Reply
  • 45. Karin  |  June 21, 2014 at 9:42 am

    Very good blog you have here but I was wanting to know if you knew of any forums that cover the same topics talked about here? I’d really love to be a part of group where I can get feedback from other experienced individuals that share the same interest. If you have any recommendations, please let me know. Cheers!

    Reply
  • 46. Dorothy  |  July 13, 2014 at 6:45 am

    Fantastic goods from you, man. I have understand your stuff previous to and you are just too magnificent. I really like what you have acquired here, certainly like what you are saying and the way in which you say it. You make it entertaining and you still care for to keep it sensible. I can’t wait to read much more from you. This is really a great site.

    Reply
  • 47. Robertneld  |  August 22, 2014 at 10:31 am

    宜蘭休閒農場
    大溪老街特色
    新竹休閒農莊
    休閒農舍
    台灣休閒農業

    大溪自行車步道
    大溪花園
    新竹民宿老頭擺生態休閒農場
    桃園大溪老街住宿
    台湾の農業

    Reply
  • 48. youtube.com  |  September 21, 2014 at 12:41 am

    Hey I know this is off topic but I was wondering if you knew of any
    widgets I could add to my blog that automatically tweet my newest twitter updates.
    I’ve been looking for a plug-in like this for quite some time and was
    hoping maybe you would have some experience with something like this.

    Please let me know if you run into anything.
    I truly enjoy reading your blog and I look forward to your new
    updates.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

March 2009
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Most Recent Posts


