Ubuntu / Debian apt-get install build-essential issue

June 18, 2006 at 1:34 pm 10 comments

Recently, I installed Ubunto 6.06 on my Presario 906us laptop. Unfortunately, the wireless did not work by default. I google and found a a very nice article for installing the Compaq W200 (Orinoco) drivers:

https://wiki.ubuntu.com/WifiDocs/Device/CompaqW200?action=show&redirect=InstallingCompaqW200

The installation process involves downloading the source, compiling the drivers and installing them. In order to compile the drivers, I had to get various packages. The article suggested using the following line:

sudo apt-get install build-essential cvs linux-headers-`uname -r` gcc-3.4-base cpp-3.4

Instead of working, I get an error that build-essential could not be found:

Reading package lists… Done
Building dependency tree… Done
E: Couldn't find package build-essential

The problem turns out to be an incomplete package list. To fixed the problem, you can either run either apt-get update from the command line or run the Synaptic Package Manager and press the refresh button.

Entry filed under: debian, linux, ubuntu.

Winform Validation: Keypress vs TextChanged Switching off the tap in Synaptic Touchpad in Linux

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Marc  |  June 18, 2006 at 7:28 pm

    Why does it say “build-essential” (singular) in your command-line but then “build-essentials” (plural) in the error message?

    Reply
  • 2. paulsiu  |  June 19, 2006 at 11:20 am

    Probably a typo on my part. I did not copied down the error message so I had to google for a post with the same error. No doubt the other person actually had a different problem (he or she probably run apt-get on build-essential with an “s”. I have made corrections.

    Reply
  • 3. Jeremie Long  |  December 22, 2006 at 1:08 pm

    Hello,
    I was wondering my Ubuntu Dapper Drake won’t get sudo apt-get install build-essential I don’t know what i am doing wrong. Im a new user only using Ubuntu Linux. If you could help me that would be great!

    Reply
  • 4. paulsiu  |  December 25, 2006 at 3:14 pm

    What sort of error are you getting?

    Reply
  • 5. Stefani Whelan  |  February 5, 2007 at 2:35 pm

    How is that supposed to work?

    I’m trying to install the driver for my D-Link DWL-G122 rev c1, and ubuntu has been quite helpful up to this point.

    I did the apt-get install build-essential command, such as you did. It failed the same way.

    So here’s the conundrum – I don’t have internet access, because the driver for the wireless adapter isn’t compiled yet (duh!), so where is apt-get update or Synaptic Package Manager supposed to get the update from?

    That leaves me with my Windows desktop with internet access – does anyone know where these packages are (I assume ubuntu.com, but where) and how I make sure to get the right ones? Doing an update normally involves some checking of version numbers or dates.

    Any help would be appreciated.
    Thanks.

    Reply
  • 6. paulsiu  |  February 7, 2007 at 10:51 pm

    I don’t have a ubuntu any more, but I think you can get the packages from the disc instead of the internet?

    Reply
  • 7. noo  |  April 3, 2007 at 8:10 pm

    hey, thanks for the post. helped me with an stdio.h problem over ubunto.

    Reply
  • 8. Jakob  |  September 7, 2009 at 2:39 pm

    post

    Reply
  • 9. wind chimes boutique hotel  |  December 21, 2012 at 8:36 am

    Depending which hemisphere you live in it is established as
    follows:. Using wind chimes to further improve the feng shui
    in your home is one of the most effective items it is possible to use.
    Chimes are wonderful gifts to help understand that others
    are still there to offer help and support whenever they need
    them.

    Reply
  • 10. klonopin  |  August 1, 2013 at 9:40 pm

    Thankfulness to my father who stated to me concerning this blog,
    this webpage is truly awesome.

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

June 2006
M T W T F S S
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Most Recent Posts